Types of Bonsai to Plant in Your Small and Large Garden

Spread the love

The art of cultivating bonsai has its origin in China two thousand years ago, at the hands of the Taoist monks. These saw the figure of the trees as a symbol of the union between earth and sky, as well as a symbol of eternity. In bonsai they tried to extol all these symbolisms, creating a plant that was a representation of a perfect specimen of the same species but in miniature.

Since then, the art of growing bonsai has developed a great deal, so much so that today there are plenty of ways to grow and shape it. If you want to learn more about the different types of bonsai and their characteristics.

Types of bonsai

There are different types of bonsai depending on their size and these are their names:

  • Hachi-Uye
  • Omono
  • Chumono
  • Kotate Mochi or Komono
  • Shohin

types of bonsai

Bonsai Hachi-Uye, the largest

These are the largest bonsai. These are plants with a height greater than 130 cm, and for this reason, they attract a lot of attention. The Hachi-Uye bonsais are very rare to see so expensive and time – consuming that result as they keep the bonsai technique in such a large plant takes a lot of work and effort.

Bonsai Omono

The Omono are between 60 and 120 cm in size, making them the equivalent in size of many common shrubs to see in parks and gardens. They are large enough to be conspicuous, so they are often used to preside over the center of courtyards or to cross doors or places of passage.

Chumono bonsai

With a height of between 30 and 60 cm, the Chumono are still difficult to see among novice amateurs, since they are still plants of a certain size and weight. Their price, however, is cheaper than that of the even larger categories, so those who are not intimidated can find them in specialized stores.

Bonsai Komono

Also called Kotate Mochi, the size of these bonsai ranges from 15 to 31 cm. These are quite simple to maintain bonsai, in which a style of leafy forest or fukinagashi is usually sought.

Bonsai Shohin

They are one of the most common types of bonsai since their size of between 15 and 25 cm makes them very popular and easy to maintain compared to others of more extreme sizes. The Shohin does not involve the great amount of work of larger bonsai nor the technical difficulty of the smaller ones.

Bonsai types according to their style or shape

According to their desired shape or style, these are the different types of bonsai :

  • Chokkan
  • Moyogui
  • Shakan
  • Hokidachi

Chokkan or formal style

It is the most formal style in the art of bonsai. In the Chokkan type of bonsai, the aim is to create a trunk that is completely straight and cylindrical in shape, with branches that alternate on each side, with branches that are deep between them and a separation distance that shortens as they approach the apex.


It is also known as the informal vertical style. A curved trunk is sought on any of the three axes, with alternate branches on both sides that emerge from the curved areas of the trunk. There are also branches deep, and the distance between branches shortens as they climb. The Moyogui or Moyogi is common among beginners.

Shakan or slanted style

Similar to the chokkan, with the difference that it is an inclined style, in that a trunk that remains straight but inclined with respect to the ground is sought. The Shakan bonsai style is common in pines and other conifers.


Also called an umbrella or broom. The Hokidachi style of bonsai seeks to form a dense dome like that of an umbrella, uniform and that completely covers the branches with its leaves.

Now that you know the different types of bonsai by size and style.

You may like also to read http://cherryblossomlife.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *